Tuesday, October 5, 2010

I got a dress…for me!!

So yesterday was funny. I was talking to Macapagi and asked him to ask the pastor a question. I had told him a man called Macahabe was still at the church, so the church needed to be locked up. I got a delayed response from him: “Sawa.” I ask Macapagi to tell him my situation. Macapagi translates and then waits until the pastor leaves and says to me, no wonder you got a delayed response, the name is really something else and what you said translates to a prostitute! I told a pastor that I left the church unlocked for a prostitute! Marty, him and I bust out laughing!! Whoops!

Today cracked me up with the kids. We had a role playing game and we had it with a mom and a child over household objects. I got Asifiwe and Alpha to do it. Asifiwe was the mom and he’s a boy. They did a rockin job. I was a little proud, too because the skit finally worked.

Today I asked Ngwatika to make me a dress. It cost 3,000 Tsh. I gave her 4 and she tried to refuse. The dress would have been less than $3! Nuts, huh? Material was 7,00, so I’m paying about 10 bucks for a customized dress. I think I’ll make a few skirts since my clothes are ugly. I need different tops, too. Ironic. I’m so materialistic in a third world country. The people dress here pretty well. But I need to grow up. Ngwatika was getting three bucks for a dress and I’m complaining about my wardrobe. Well I do stick out too much. Oh well. :) I’m already the only tall white girl for miles. What’s an ugly shirt to go with it?

No comments:

Post a Comment